Partial Lunar Eclipse September 7th, Annular Solar Eclipse September 22nd
Home | About | Events | World Sankirtan Party | Inside Nam Hatta | eBooks | Site Map | Submit | Contact | Store                    http://www.bhaktivedantas.com
logo

Home
About
Events
World Sankirtan Party
Inside Nam Hatta
eBooks
Site Map
Store

The Bhaktivedantas
Krishna Books
What is Hare Krishna?
The Founder-Acharya
Hare Krishna Mantra
Sankirtan Movement
Personality of Godhead
Lord Chaitanya
A.C.Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada

Hansadutta das
Events: Kirtan Festival
World Sankirtan Party


Submit News

Email


© 2004 - Hansadutta das
[Posted September 2, 2006]

September Eclipses

Das Chan

Comment Send this story to a friend Printer Friendly Page

This coming week we can look forward to the first of two eclipses this month, a partial lunar eclipse on Thursday, September 7, 2006, followed close on its heels by an annular solar eclipse on September 22nd, the 4th Friday of the month.

Nasa doesn't attach much significance to these two eclipses, but astrologer Patita Pavana das Adhikary, an early disciple of His Divine Grace A.C. Bhaktivedanta and author of a number of books on Vedic astrology has predicted that the effects of the upcoming eclipses will be even more sinister than that experienced from the eclipses earlier this year in March.

Short of mass evacuation from planet Earth, there is nowhere to run to from eclipses, comets, meteors, and other events showering down from the heavens, nor anywhere to run to from nature's vengeance in the shape of earthquakes, volcanos, tornados, hurricanes, floods, drought, tsunamis, nor for that matter is there anywhere to run to from our very own mind and senses, which harangue and torment us relentlessly. What, then, is the use of all our advancement of modern civilization, education, science and technology, economics and politics? Can the scientists prevent earthquakes, hurricanes, floods, or at least change the ocean tides? Can the politicians keep us safe? They have so many evacuation plans, rescue plans, plans for economic revival, and they implement so many strict security measures to guard against terrorist threats and natural disasters. But can they save us from birth, old age, disease and death? An intelligent person might wonder, "What am I supposed to do, then? If everything I'm doing now culminates in futility, and ultimately death, then let me find that thing which is worth living for." Atatho brahma-jijnasa: This is the beginning of human life, to inquire into the Absolute Truth, Brahman.

Since thousands of years ago it was the custom in India to visit the holy places and there chant the holy names of God during an eclipse, and 500 years ago it was on just such an occasion that all India was roaring with the holy names when Chaitanya Mahaprabhu made his appearance for the purpose of re-introducing the chanting of the Hare Krishna maha mantra: Hare Krishna, Hare Krishna, Krishna Krishna, Hare Hare/ Hare Rama, Hare Rama, Rama Rama, Hare Hare. Anyone can chant this greatest of mantras at any time, any place, under any and all circumstances, either loudly or quietly, either alone or in an assembly, and we invite everyone to make an experiment, try chanting Hare Krishna at the time of the eclipses. On the other hand, why wait? Chant: Hare Krishna, Hare Krishna, Krishna Krishna, Hare Hare/ Hare Rama, Hare Rama, Rama Rama, Hare Hare, and be transported out of this world. How? Read more about how to chant in Meditation in the Age of Quarrel.

September 7, 2006
Partial Lunar Eclipse


First contact: 16:42 UT

At that time it will be:
09:42 San Francisco (-8, PDST)
12:42 New York (EDST)
20:42 Moscow (ST)
22:12 New Delhi (+5.5, ST)
00:42 Hong Kong (+8, ST) (Fri, Sep 8)

Partial Eclipse begins:
18:05 UT


At that time it will be:
11:05 San Francisco (-8, PDST)
14:05 New York (EDST)
22:05 Moscow (ST)
23:35 New Delhi (+5.5. ST)
02:05 Hong Kong (+8, ST) (Fri, Sep 8)

Greatest Eclipse: 18:51 UT

At that time it will be:
11:51 San Francisco (-8, PDST)
14:51 New York (EDST)
22:51 Moscow (ST)
00:21 New Delhi (+5.5, ST) (Fri, Sep 8)
02:51 Hong Kong (+8, ST) (Fri, Sep 8)

Partial Eclipse ends: 19:37 UT

At that time it will be:
12:37 San Francisco (-8, PDST)
15:37 New York (EDST)
23:37 Moscow (ST)
01:07 New Delhi (+5.5, ST) (Fri, Sep 8)
03:37 Hong Kong (+8, ST) (Fri, Sep 8)

Penumbral Eclipse ends: 21:00 UT

At that time it will be:
14:00 San Francisco (-8, PDST)
17:00 New York (EDST)
01:00 Moscow (ST) (Fri, Sep 8)
02:30 New Delhi (+5.5, ST) (Fri, Sep 8)
05:00 Hong Kong (+8, ST) (Fri, Sep 8)


Partial Lunar Eclipse
The illustration and times below are taken from the Nasa website.

path of lunar eclipse, March 14, 2006
Lunar eclipse, September 7, 2006 (Click on image to magnify view)

The map above reveals that the point of greatest eclipse falls over the center of the Indian ocean, directly below the Indian subcontinent. The eclipse will be visible at least in part to practically all of Europe, Africa, Asia, and Brazil in South America. North America and the most of South America stand outside the path of the eclipse.

Annular Solar Eclipse
September 22, 2006
Annular Solar Eclipse in Virgo


Beginning to End:  08:39 - 14:40 UT
(6 hrs 1 min)

At that time it will be:
01:39 - 07:40 San Francisco (-8, PDST)
04:39 - 10:40 New York (EDST)
05:39 - 11:40 Rio de Janeiro
12:39  - 18:40 Moscow (ST)
14:09 - 20:10 New Delhi (+5.5, ST)
16:39 - 22:40 Hong Kong (+8, ST)


Greatest Eclipse: 11:40:11 UT
(Duration 7 min 9 sec)

At that time it will be:
04:40:11 San Francisco (-8, PDST)
07:40:11 New York (EDST)
08:40:11 Rio de Janeiro
15:40:11 Moscow (ST)
17:10:11 New Delhi (+5.5, ST)
19:40:11 Hong Kong (+8, ST)
The solar eclipse on September 22nd occurs in the zodiac sign Virgo and falls largely across the Atlantic from the Caribbean to below the tip of Africa, partially visible from South America, East Caribbean, West Africa and Antarctica.

Go to Nasa's website for further information and exact times in your locality. Click on the image below to view magnified image.

Check out Dr. Louis Turi's 2006 Eclipse Predictions.


Disclaimer: The Bhaktivedantas does not necessarily endorse the information or opinions expressed at these external websites.

path of annular solar eclipse, September 2006
Path of solar eclipse, September 22, 2006 (Click on image to magnify view)


September Eclipses/ WORLD SANKIRTAN PARTY
©2004-Hansadutta das
Home | About | Events | World Sankirtan Party | Inside Nam Hatta
eBooks | Site Map | Store
Sri Guru and Gauranga
Sri Guru and Gauranga

Related Articles

Pakistan Earthquake Predicted in Advance by Vedic Astrologer
Sword from the Sky
News Alert - March Forecast
Two Eclipses this March
The Hare Krishna Maha-mantra
Incarnation of Sound
Meditation in the Age of Quarrel

Related Topics

Astrology
Holy Name - Chanting the Holy Name
Vedas - Vedic Authority


Related Websites

Nasa Eclipse Website

Time Converter at World Time Server













Back to Top

































Back to Top





































Back to Top